cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HCP App Services vs HANA One and HEC

0 Kudos

Hi,

I have a couple of specific questions:

1. If I am a developer and I want to get to know HANA for the first time, would I start with the Developer edition of HCP App Services (which is completely free!) or with HANA One (which is 0.99$ an hour)? The price would suggest that I start with HCP, and I also assume that gives me access to App Services that I wouldn't get on HANA One. On the other hand, you can't go into production with HCP, but you can with HANA One, so that would go in favour of HANA One. Are these the main considerations, or am I missing something?

2. If I've built a custom applications in HCP App Services, I can either run it there, or with HEC. So when would I do what? I guess they are different specs and pricing models, so I would have to make a detailed comparison, but are there any immediate differences that make this a fairly straightforward choice?

Hope you understand my questions and thanks for clarifying!

-Maarten

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Maarten,

Good questions. See answers below.

1. If I am a developer and I want to get to know HANA for the first time, would I start with the Developer edition of HCP App Services (which is completely free!) or with HANA One (which is 0.99$ an hour)? The price would suggest that I start with HCP, and I also assume that gives me access to App Services that I wouldn't get on HANA One. On the other hand, you can't go into production with HCP, but you can with HANA One, so that would go in favour of HANA One. Are these the main considerations, or am I missing something?