cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dimensional Modeling on SAP Hana

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am a newbie on SAP hana, so need help from experts / gurus.

Imagine the following Scenario ---> Oracle ERP is the source System and we want to build a Analytic Solution on Hana. Also assume that tables can be replicated into SAP Hana

Questions

1)For any kind of reporting / Analytics? Should we build a traditional Datawarehouse on Hana with all the features found in a star schema like surrogate keys, conformed facts and dimensions etc? or  use only attribute views / analytical views provided as default and build datawarehouse model on top of this? In the second case, do we still need surrogate keys or how can we merge slowly changing dimensions?

2)Where can be push the transformation logic? Into ETL tool or use Hana provided sql script? and also where do we do this transformation, outiside hana where we do all transformations and load only data into normolized format? or within hana using scripts?

3) In any case is dimensional modeling really required on Hana? if not how can we map business process and do analysis on them? is it by means of only the views provided by Hana?

Your help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi,

1. there is no SID mechanism while modelling on HANA. As we use extended star-schema in BW, it would be simple star schema while modelling on HANA. the whole process can be mapped and modeled using analytic/attribute and calculation views(created via GUI or SCQLScript) only, which makes modelling much simpler. when data is requested from information view, results sets will be calculated on the fly; hence no usage of aggregates. For SCD mechanism, we will use BODS. BODS provides extensive support for SCD scenario.